During the early part of this century, handball was played in Kilmyshall by the young people of the area. In the long summer evenings they practiced this ancient art against the wall of the old schoolhouse next to the street, at the entrance to the present Mr. P. Byrne's house. This aroused an interest in forming a club and it was decided to acquire a site. The following is a copy of the record kept by Rev. Kevin Doyle C.C. in the Baptismal Register, Kilmyshall, 9th April, 1928.


Denis and Mrs. Dunne gave a site beside the old schoolhouse absolutely free to the Curacy of Kilmyshall. The land commission included the alley site in the sale of the house and yard. The ball alley therefore (post factum) rests on parochial ground. The following were the principal members of the committee: Fr. K. Doyle C.C, H. Kavanagh, Merchant Doyle, Dan Doyle, Phil Devereux, John and James Crean, Dave Crean (Long), Hugh Byrne, Denis Dunne, Tom and Batty Hanlon, Martin Donohoe, Mick Doyle.

The ball alley was built in 1925. In the first game played in the new alley between Martin O'Neill, Ferns and Dan Nolan, Coorduff, O'Neill was the winner. Many inter-county games were played there in the 1930's featuring Martin O'Neill, Ferns, Ned Dillon, Enniscorthy, Tony Drumgoole, Wexford. From Carlow came Mick Dunne, Bagenalstown, Fr. Prendergast and Bill Doyle, all from Borris.

At club level, the first break came in 1954 when Willie Kavanagh and Billy Ellis contested the County Junior final and were beaten by Fethard-on-Sea in a hard fought thrilling game. The next final to be reached was in Juvenile in 1958 when Johnny Nolan and Martin Cullen contested this final but were defeated in an exciting encounter.

Success came in 1972 when the Wexford County Novice Championship was won. The team that brought the honours to the club by beating Ballyanne in the final was: Jonny Nolan (Capt.), Pat Crean (The Style), Eamon Nolan and George O'Neill.

In 1974 Martin Cowman did the parish proud when he won an All-Ireland Community Games medal with Wexford.


In addition to those already mentioned there were many other excellent handballers about: Mick Rigney, Jack Rigney, Pat and Aidan Byrne, Kilmyshall, Mosey Ellis, Jordan's of Ballindaggin, Dan Nolan, Cloneybyrne, Larry Doyle, Leo Kavanagh, Tom Finn, Patsy Finn, Jonny Nolan, Cashel to name but some of the more outstanding players.

In the Autumn of 1984 a new committee was formed with a view to roofing the ball alley and this committee is presently hard at work. The members of the committee are: Rev. J. Ryan C.C, President, Larry Doyle, Chairman, Thomas Byrne, Secretary, Jonny Nolan, Treasurer, J. J. Murphy, Martin Murphy, Dan Murphy, Tommy Armstrong {Junior), Jimmy Finn, Michael Furlong, Pat Murphy, Ryland, Matt Skelton.